Gwinnett County Concealed Carry Permit

Speak with a trusted Gwinnett County criminal lawyers.

Learn how to apply for a concealed carry permit in your state, get reciprocity information, use your permit while traveling, and more from an attorney.

 

Author: Philip Kim, Founder, Philip Kim Law, P.C.

Defense lawyer Philip Kim has committed his career to standing up for the accused, and protecting the rights and reputations of his valued clients. If you face criminal charges in Georgia, we can provide you with the skilled, effective defense representation you need.

Published on August 02, 2022.

 

What Is a Concealed Carry Permit?

A concealed carry permit allows gun owners to carry a concealed handgun. It’s typically issued to people over the age of 21 who have passed a background check and met other requirements.

 Georgia residents with a weapons carry permit, anyone carrying a weapon lawfully, and non-residents with an out-of-state license/permit are allowed to carry concealed weapons.

Having a concealed weapon is illegal in Georgia and punishable by severe penalties. Even with a permit, entering some buildings, such as government buildings and schools, with a weapon is illegal. First-time offenders are subject to misdemeanor charges, which include heavy fines and a year in jail.

It would be best to work with criminal lawyers in Lawrenceville if you have been accused of these offenses.

Getting a Concealed Carry Permit in Gwinnett County

Do not expect Chick-Fil-A-like efficiency from these municipal governments, as each facility serves several purposes. But it’s not terrible or worse than obtaining a new driver’s license or something comparable. The initial application procedure takes one to three hours. You need to have the following:

  • Application and fingerprint fees in exact change or with the appropriate payment

  • An active government photo I.D.

  • An application that is finished but not signed

  • Proof of residence, such as your I.D.

You must wait 60 days after submitting your application and taking your fingerprints. Again, there are many different things that we are hearing regarding Dekalb County, but the main message is to continue with them. Ask for an update when the 60-day mark comes. They won’t give you a call.

If you reside elsewhere, the procedure will be pretty similar. Finding the county’s official website link by searching for “county>> concealed carry permit process” is the quickest method to get started.

Where to Get Concealed Carry Permit?

The Probate Court’s Vital Records Division issued licenses to carry weapons, housed in Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046, 75, Langley Drive. The office is the first on the right after the elevators. It is situated on the first level of the courtside wing (the left side of the building facing the main door from the outside). There are forms and writing areas outside the office.

Concealed Carry Requirements in Gwinnett County

 

In Gwinnett County, Georgia, you need a Concealed Carry License to carry a handgun in public.

The requirements for obtaining a Georgia Concealed Carry License are as follows:

  • You must be 21 years old or older.
  • A felony conviction must not have occurred in the previous five years.
  • You must not be subject to any outstanding warrants or court orders that prohibit you from carrying a concealed weapon, including any child support obligations or community service tasks.
  • There must be no past misdemeanor drug-related convictions or misdemeanor drug crimes on your record within the past five years.

Renewing a Concealed Carry Permit Gwinnett County

A carry license will be renewed if:

  • There are less than 90 days left before your Georgia Probate Court-issued license expires.

  • You have filled in and submitted an online application to renew your weapons carry license before signing the application in court.

  • Finally, sign a printed copy of the application you submitted online in the presence of the clerk of the Probate Court.

If the online application does not recognize you as a “renewal” for any reason, please fill out the form as a “new” applicant. The clerk will make the required changes when you appear in court.

Before appearing, seek counsel from Gwinnett County criminal lawyers to ensure that your application is correctly filled and submitted.

Concealed Carry Permit: Disqualifying Factors

To get a concealed carry permit, you must meet specific requirements, including having a clean criminal record. But what about other disqualifying factors?

In addition to having a criminal record, there are several other reasons why people cannot get concealed carry permits:

  • Age: Many states require applicants to be 18 years old to be eligible for a concealed carry weapon permit. You must be 21 years old to be eligible for your weapons carry license in Georgia.

  • Laws about mental health and substance abuse issues: Some states only allow people with specific mental health issues or drug use problems to apply for concealed carry permits. Other states don’t even offer access to weapons at all.

  • Drug-related convictions or criminal proceedings: In many states, possessing and using illegal drugs are grounds for disqualification.

  • Existing arrest or conviction records: You will be denied if you have been convicted of any other felony or misdemeanor, including robbery, illegal possession, or use of a firearm.

  • A history of domestic violence: In most states, a conviction for domestic violence is an automatic disqualifier for a weapons carry permit.

  • A restraining order against you: If you have a current restraining order against you, it’s improbable that you will be granted a concealed carry permit.

Depending on your situation, you may qualify to ask the county probate judge for approval. Reach out to a Gwinnett superior court lawyer to find out if you are eligible.

You Are Now Good to Go!

And that’s a wrap on our guide to getting your concealed carry permit in Gwinnett County. We hope you found it helpful! Always keep safety in mind, so if you have any questions or concerns about carrying a weapon, please consult with Gwinnett County criminal lawyers before heading out into the world with your new permit. Good luck and stay safe.

Request a Free Legal Consultation

Philip Kim Law, P.C.
368 West Pike Street, Suite 203
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
(678) 201-0496
Fax: (678) 273-3501
kim map