Everything About Hit and Run Georgia
Speak with a trusted criminal attorneys in Georgia.
Laws can provide stiff punishment for hit-and-run, though specific penalties vary from state to state. Learn the Hit and Run Laws in Georgia from here.
Author: Philip Kim, Founder, Philip Kim Law, P.C.
Defense lawyer Philip Kim has committed his career to standing up for the accused, and protecting the rights and reputations of his valued clients. If you face criminal charges in Georgia, we can provide you with the skilled, effective defense representation you need.
Published on August 02, 2022.
Georgia Hit and Run Laws
A hit-and-run crime in Georgia occurs when a driver leaves the crash scene without communicating with the other party or the police. A hit-and-run charge can be brought against the driver who struck your car. In Georgia, hit and run (leaving the scene of an accident) is a more severe crime than DUI since it is a crime with specific intent.
The maximum penalty for hit and run in Georgia is imprisonment for up to 12 months. However, if there was more than one hit-and-run victim, there could be more severe penalties, including jail time and fines and fees.
Legal Obligations Following a Hit and Run
If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident, you have certain legal obligations under the law.
You need to provide the information about the accident and report it to the authorities. If there are injuries, death, or property damage beyond a certain threshold, the accident must be reported to the local police department, sheriff, or Georgia Highway Patrol. Leaving the accident scene without fulfilling these obligations can lead to hit-and-run charges, which come with severe penalties, including fines, imprisonment, and license suspension.
Hit and Run Charges Georgia
Georgia law states that if you injure someone while driving, you must stop at the scene of the accident and give your name, address, and driver’s license number to the police. If you do not stop, several different penalties may apply depending on your case’s circumstances.
Hit-and-run laws in Georgia also place a duty on the at-fault driver to give any individual injured in such an accident reasonable assistance. This includes calling for emergency medical services and transporting or making transport arrangements for the injured victim to a hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is necessary.
If you were the victim of a hit-and-run crime, speak with a Gwinnett County criminal lawyer to determine your options.
Penalties for Hit and Run Addicents in Georgia
Georgia has strict laws about hit-and-run cases. You could face jail time or hefty fines if you are convicted of a hit-and-run crime. Minor hit-and-run incidents do not have substantial legal repercussions, but those that result in fatalities or serious injuries can.
In Georgia, you may be charged with a misdemeanor if you flee the scene of a hit-and-run accident and there are no fatalities or serious injuries. Depending on the degree of the damage, the fine may be between $300 and $1,000. If your case is serious enough, you could also receive a jail sentence of up to 12 months.
Hit-and-run accidents resulting in death, serious injury, or significant property damage typically result in felony charges. Felony charges can be enhanced and result in longer prison sentences, depending on the facts of the case. For instance, a fatality resulting from a hit-and-run accident could result in a five-year prison term. In case if it is your third or subsequent conviction, the penalties would be severe.
It’s critical to comprehend the repercussions of being charged with a hit-and-run offense. Working with criminal lawyers is, therefore, imperative when handling such matters. Your lawyer will make every reasonable effort to ensure your rights are protected.
What are the Legal Rights of Hit and Run Victims in Georgia?
If you are a victim who sustained damages, either physical, emotional or property damage, you have legal rights and options to protect you.
The first step is to ensure your immediate safety and seek medical attention if needed. Provide help to any injured person in such accident reasonable assistance. If you can, you can do the basic information hunt about the accident, the vehicle involved, the other party, and any other detail.
Report the incident to the police so they can help you from there. If you can, you can look for any evidence and note the contact information of the witnesses. You also need to report the incident to your insurance company so they can start looking into the matter.
Depending on your insurance policy, you may be able to claim compensation for your injuries and damages. You may also have the right to pursue a personal injury lawsuit if the driver is identified.
However, before starting the legal fight, it is best to consult with an experienced attorney who can guide you through this process, ensuring you understand your rights, your case, and the best course of action based on your specific circumstances.
An attorney can assist you in investigating the incident, interview witnesses for you, negotiate with insurance companies and protect your rights in court.
Are you facing a Georgia Hit and Run charge?
If you’re facing a hit-and-run charge in Georgia, don’t panic. Contact our team of criminal attorneys for a free consultation. With years of experience defending people facing hit-and-run charges, we can help you build the strongest possible defense. So, don’t wait – contact us today!
Frequently Asked Questions
Can You Get Arrested for Hit and Run?
The short answer is yes. The laws regarding hit-and-run accidents are complicated, but if the local law enforcement thinks you have committed a crime, they can arrest you immediately. So, for example, if there’s evidence that a person was involved in an accident and fled the scene after it occurred, the police can arrest them for hit and run.
Can you Claim for Damages After a Hit and Run Accident?
When you are injured in a hit-and-run accident, you may be entitled to compensation if you identify the party responsible for the crash and file a claim against them. Your claims for damages may include the following:
Loss of income and wages
Pain and suffering
Costs of replacing or repairing the vehicle
It is essential to be aware of the fact that it may take longer for you to identify the responsible party after a Georgia hit-and-run accident. However, finding the perpetrator is possible. The police will investigate the incident based on your details, the evidence at the scene, and the testimony of witnesses. They could narrow down their suspects and eventually find the person responsible.
Can You Get A Hit and Run License Suspension?
You may have a hit-and-run charge on your record if you are involved in a car accident and fled the scene, but what about getting a hit-and-run license suspension?
Getting a hit-and-run suspension can be difficult because it depends on whether or not you were cited for leaving the scene. When you have left the scene of an accident, your license will be suspended for two years.
However, if you weren’t charged with leaving the scene of an accident, your license won’t be suspended.